Once again departing from the tradition of opening the festival with a Canadian film, TIFF programmers have selected Looper, an American sci-fi thriller starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a mob hitman whose victims are sent to him from the future, to kick off the festival. The film, which reunites Gordon-Levitt with his Brick director Rian Johnson, also stars Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt, and Paul Dano.

Here’s the complete list of the titles that have been released so far. Highlights include Cloud Atlas (an adaptation of David Mitchell’s impossible-to-adapt novel from Tom Twyker and the Wachowskis), Argo (Ben Affleck’s thriller about the Iranian hostage crisis), The Place Beyond the Pines (Derek Cianfrance’s follow-up to his sublime Blue Valentine), and Terrence Malick’s intriguingly-titled To the Wonder (also starring Ben Affleck).

Opening Night

Looper (Rian Johnson)


Agro (Ben Affleck)
Jayne Mansfield’s Car (Billy Bob Thornton)
Love, Marilyn (Liz Garbus)
Free Angela And All Political Prisoners (Shola Lynch)
Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell)
The Place Beyond The Pines (Derek Cianfrance)
Midnight’s Children (Deepa Mehta)
Hyde Park On The Hudson (Roger Mitchell)
Great Expectations (Mike Newell)
Inescapable (Rubba Radda)
Twice Born (Sergio Castellitto)
English Vinglish (Gauri Shinde)
The Reluctant Fundamentalist (Mira Nair)
The Company You Keep (Robert Redford)
A Royal Affair (Nikolai Arcel)
Dangerous Liaisons (Hur Jin-Ho)
Thermae Romae (Hideki Takeuchi)

Special Presentations

Cloud Atlas (Tom Tykwer, Lana and Andy Wachowski)
The Perks Of Being A Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)
Thanks For Sharing (Stuart Blumberg)
End Of Watch (David Ayer)
Imogene (Robert Puccini and Shari Spring Berman)
A Late Quartet (Yaron Zilberman)
Much Ado About Nothing (Joss Whedon)
Frances Ha (Noah Baumbach)
The Time Being (Nenad Cicin-Sain)
Writers (Josh Boone)
At Any Price (Ramin Bahrani)
Venus And Serena (Maiken Baird)
Byzantium (Neil Jordan)
Quartet (Dustin Hoffman)
Ginger and Rosa (Sally Potter)
A Liar’s Autobiography (Ben Timlett, Bill Jones, and Jeff Simpson)
Foxfire (Laurent Cantet)
In The House (Francois Ozon)
The Impossible (J.A. Bayona)
Hannah Arendt (Margarethe von Trotta)
Mr. Pip (Andrew Adamson)
Capital (Costa-Gavras)
The Attack (Ziad Doueiri)
Zaytoun (Eran Riklis)
The Deep (Baltasar Kormakur)
Dreams For Sale (Nishikawa Miwa)
The Last Supper (Lu Chuan)
Anna Karenina (Joe Wright)
Caught In The Web (Chen Kaige)
Dormant Beauty (Marco Bellochhio)
Everybody Has A Plan (Ana Piterbarg)
Kon-Tiki (Joachim Roenning and Espen Sandberg)
To The Wonder (Terrence Malick)
Reality (Matteo Garrone)
A Few Hours Of Spring (Stephane Brize)
The Hunt (Thomas Vinterberg)
The Iceman (Ariel Vromen)
Lore (Cate Shortland)
No (Pablo Larrain)
Outrage Beyond (Takeshi Kitano)
Rust And Bone (Jacquest Audiard)
The Sapphires (Wayne Blair)
Tai Chi 0 (Stephen Fung)
The Sessions (Ben Lewis)